20 youth sailors compete in 2018 BVI Dinghy Championships

By Royal BVI Yacht Club

The BVI Team – Samuel Allen (champ fleet) plus green fleet sailors Ethan George, Jayde Fanord, Matthew & Benedict Grayson and Victoria Rowlette with Commodore Giles Wood and Tamsin Rand Photo: RBVIYC / Clair Burke

The 2018 BVI Dinghy Championships welcomed 20 competitors representing the BVI, St Thomas and Puerto Rico.  Racing on May 19 and 20, Tanner Krygsveld from St Thomas Yacht Club was the overall Optimist winner with Paul Johnson taking the Laser 4.7 title.

Out on the championship course, sailors were treated to 20+ knots of wind and waves, peppered by squalls adding even more wind and rain to the mix.  The skill of these sailors is so impressive, on days when most would decide to stay ashore, they were eager to get out there and thoroughly enjoyed the challenges of the conditions.

Tanner Krygsveld (STYC), last year’s white fleet winner, was a force to be reckoned with this weekend, finishing first in five of the 11 races.  In second place, five points adrift on 26, was Andy Yu, also from St Thomas, with a consistent series including two race wins.  Third overall and first in the red fleet was Winn Majette.  The BVI’s Samuel Allen had a challening weekend, finishing in ninth place.

The Optimist Green fleet completed all but one of their 18 races in the inner marina, where (since Irma removed the docks and boats) there is an excellent arena for small boat racing providing a treat for spectators to watch the action right on their doorsteps..literally!

On Sunday morning, they bravely joined the championship fleet race course for their first race of the day.

“Congratulations to all the sailors for taking on the challenge, it was a major achievement for all of them to race in those conditions.  Well done to Coby Fagan who finished in first place, Victoria Rowlette second and Matthew Grayson third,” said Tamsin Rand, RBVIYC manager.

The fleet then returned to the inner marina for a further six races. Overall it was Coby Fagan from St Thomas Yacht Club who dominated the fleet, finishing in first place in 13 of the races.  Other race winners were Victoria Rowlette, second overall; Amanda Plaxton, third overall; Matthew Grayson, fourth overall.

Four Laser sailors, wisely selecting the 4.7 rig, took to the race course on Saturday with Paul Johnson coming away as the clear winner.  All the Laser sailors, Paul, Rory, Tom and Charlie, provided great entertainment to the spectators who look forward to regular Laser racing in the near future.

The trophies this year were handmade from recycled materials damaged by Hurricane Irma.  Presented on Sunday at the Youth Sailing base in Nanny Cay, the Opti and Laser replicas were made from a shutter from Government House and pieces of the Royal BVI Yacht Club deck.

The RBVIYC thanked event hosts Nanny Cay, as well as Doyle Sails and all the competitors, parents, support teams and  volunteers on and off the water who made the championships possible.


Optimist Championship Fleet
Red Fleet
1. Winn Majette – 38 pts (3rd overall)
2. Caroline Sibilly – 44 pts
3. Katherine Majette – 58 pts

Blue Fleet
1. Tanner Krygsveld  – 21 pts (1st overall)
2. Andy Yu – 26 pts (2nd overall)
3. Alejo di Blasi – 55 pts

Opti Green Fleet
1. Coby Fagan
2. Victoria Rowlette
3. Amanda Plaxton

Laser 4.7
1. Paul Johnson
2. Rory Lynch
3. Tom Lilleyman
4. Charlie Peschardt

Click here for full results.

Click here for high res photos.

Over 70 Boats Registered For 2016 BVI Dinghy Championships


3ef01173-8290-46d7-8531-cd929eb66a63The 15th edition of the BVI Dinghy Championships is set to be one of the biggest ever with over 70 sailors registered to compete on 21 and 22 May.

Sailors from the BVI, USVI and Puerto Rico will take to the water in Optimist, Optimist Green fleet, Laser, Laser Radial, Open Bic and IC24 events for the honour of being named the 2016 BVI Dinghy Champion.

Hosted at Nanny Cay, racing will take place in the Sir Francis Drake Channel on two course areas, getting underway at 10:00 on Saturday.

26 sailors are registered in the Optimist Championship fleet with awards up to grabs in three divisions: white (age 10 and younger), blue (age 11 and 12) and red (age 13 to 15).

2015 winner Mia Nicolosi will be back to defend her title in the Optimist Championship fleet.  Pipping her brother Teddy to the post by just one point in 2015, Nicolosi has been the form sailor throughout the 2016 season.  Turning 13 in June, this will be Nicolosi’s last regatta in the blue fleet and for that title she will see her biggest challenges coming from the BVIs Nathan Haycraft,and Kyle Roose, Lake Sanford and Mathieu Dale from St Croix and Caroline Sibilly from St Thomas.

Consistently taking first in the red fleet this year, the BVI’s Rayne Duff holds the titles from the MLK Regatta, VIODA Champioship, Sunshine State Regatta and the Cruzan Open but has missed out on the overall wins to Nicolosi.  Duff has been training hard and will make the most of racing on home waters to return the title to the BVI.

The white fleet has just three sailors registered but national pride is at stake with Ryan Lettsome from the BVI, competing against Iola Kohl from St Croix and Luca Perino from Puerto Rico for division honours.

With 28 sailors registered for the Optimist Green Fleet, the stage is set for a great challenge.  The Optimist green fleet is for those sailors new to racing and the youngest competitor in the mix is just 8 years old.

Leading the way for the BVI is Samuel Allen, who has posted top five results at all his regattas so far this year, and Noah George.  There are a number of BVI sailors making their international racing debut, including De’Sani Thomas, Sophia Jara, Kael Chalwell, Ethan George and Victoria Rowlette – good luck to them all.

The visitors to watch in the green fleet include Milo Miller from St Croix who claimed the honours at the Cruzan Open and VIODA Championship whilst Puerto Rico’s Jose Guillermo Diaz has two second place finishes to his name this year.

Colin Rathbun will be hoping to defend his title in the Laser and will be up against the BVI’s 2015 Youth Worlds representative from 2015, Daniel Petrovic – can youth win out over experience?

In the Laser Radial class, defending champion Sam Morrell will be battling it out for honours with BVI sailors Thad Lettsome, Jerome Parkins, Stephon Ganga, Stephen Ganga and St Croix’s Taylor Hasson and Ethan Hanley.

Four IC24s and a J24 are expected to line up in the keelboat fleet.  Helming the RBVIYCs Black Pearl will be Eddie Brockbank with Giles Wood skippering Latitude 18, duking it out against Ted Reshetiloff (Intac), Bob Philips (Roosta) and Aaron Gardner competing with his J24 Bravissimo.

VIODA Triple Crown
The Optimist Championship fleet sailors are not only vying for the 2016 BVI title but also for the 2016 VIODA Triple Crown.  With results from the VIODA Opti Championship in St Thomas, St Croix’s Cruzan Open and the BVI Dinghy Championships all counting towards an overall score the heat is on.  Mia Nicolosi (ISV) is currently leading the way ahead of 2015 champion Rayne Duff (IVB) with Victoria Flately (ISV) holding off Mathieu Dale (ISV) for third.

How to follow:
Results will be posted live on the website at www.regattanetwork.com/event/11807#_newsroom