Team BVI wins 2016 OECS Squash Championships

Photo provided

Photo provided

Squash players representing the British Virgin Islands recently returned as title winners of the 2016 OECS Squash Championships hosted by St Lucia from May 12 – 14.

Team BVI faced daily matches against players from St Lucia and St Vincent and the Grenadines in both individual and team categories to take overall first place. SVG placed second and St Lucia, third in the three-day tournament.

Overall results

Men’s Individual category

James Bentick (SVG) had a walk over win for 7th place after St Lucia’s number 1 seed, Charlie Sonson was forced to pull out of the tournament due to an injury sustained on the second day of matches.

Eshwan Adams (SVG) defeated Dion Anselm (BVI) for 5th place 5/11 11/9 11/6 11/5.

In a match between two St Vincentians for third place, Kevin Hannaway defeated Kevin Othniel Bailey 11/4 9/11 11/1 11/8.

Jules Snagg (SVG) defeated Jason Doyle (SVG) to win the category 11/6 11/5 11/4.

Men’s 40+ finals

SVG’s, James Bentick defeated Dion Anselm (BVI) in five games 5/11 11/6 11/7 7/11 11/8

Men’s 50+ finals

Neville Sorrentino (BVI) defeated Carlos Segovia (St Lucia) 11/6 5/11 11/4 11/7

Men’s 60+ finals

Winston Findlay (BVI) defeated Francis Jude (St Lucia) in a walk over.

Men’s Plate finals

Omari Wilson (SVG) defeated Andre Segovia (St Lucia) 11/8 11/5 11/9.

Ladies’ Individual finals

In an all SVG encounter, Giovanna Alexnader defeated her sister, Gianna 11/2 11/6 9/11 11/8 for third place.

Zoe Sorrentino defeated Caroline Dubois, both of the BVI, to win first place 11/6 11/1 11/3.

Ladies’ Plate finals

Sofia Fay defeated Dara Smith, both of the BVI 9/11 3/11 11/8 11/8 12/10.

In the team division between BVI, SVG and St Lucia:

Team BVI defeated SVG

Ladies’ division 3 – 0

Vets’ division 5 – 0

Men’s division 0 – 4

Team BVI defeated St Lucia

Ladies division 3 – 0

Vets’ division 2 – 3

Men’s division 4 – 0

SVG defeated St Lucia

Ladies’ division 0 – 3

Vets’ division 3 – 0

Men’s division 0 – 4

Team BVI comprised Neville Sorrentino, Dion Anselm, Winston Findlay, Paul Cowlard, Anthony Campbell, Lee Osborne (team captain), and Percy Rhoden in the Men’s categories.

The Ladies’ category competitors were Zoe Sorrentino, Caroline Dubois, Felice Swapp, Simone Foster, Dara Smith, and Sofia Fay.