Farley and Mays win 12th Deloitte-Ogier BVI Half Marathon

Source: BVI News

54 runners took part in the Deloitte-Ogier BVI Half Marathon on December 3, the first race in the BVI since Hurricane Irma. Photo: Dean “the Sportsman” Greenaway

Julius Farley and Maria Mays made it to the top of the podium in the 12th annual Deloitte-Ogier BVI Half Marathon, sweeping major trophies and other prizes on the way.

Farley won the event in a time of 1.32.06 competing in the male category, while Mays stopped the clock in a time of 1.54.01 competing in the female category.

Reuben Stoby came in second behind Farley in a time of 1.38.38 and Paul Mellor, third place in 1.41.12.

Karen Figser came in at number two in the female category with 1.58.48 and Rosemond Johnson third with 2.01.29.

The event which was held on Sunday,December 3 saw runners charting a new course, beginning and ending at the Tortola Sports Club (TSC) in Pasea Estate. Runners had to go through Road Town into Sea Cows Bay and back, while the 10k race was from the gate at Sensus car park at Manuel Reef and back.

Following the prize-giving ceremony, the two top runners in the male category shared their views of the race:

“I just went out and run my normal race and managed to make it,” Farley remarked. “Today was kind of hot but we managed to complete it. Despite the hurricane and the cancellation of so many other races we were able to pull off this one today.”
He has been a participant for four years now.

Reuben Stoby also was pleased of his second place victory. “It was a wonderful race! Julius and I have been battling in Road Racing in pretty much in every way; 5k, 2 miles, 10k and the half marathon and today he was really strong.”

A total of three teams participated- KPMG 1, KPMG 2 and Governor’s Beauties.

In the 10k, Gillian Plaxton won in the female category, while in the male, Andrew Fraser won.

In  second place in the male category was Phil Nelson, and in the third was Neil Day.

In the female category, Vanessa King came second followed by Jane Thorpe.

Director of the BVI Runners, Kay Reddy says due to the 6am curfew, the race began at 7 when the sun was already up making it a hot run.

Additionally, she explained that organizers had considered scrapping the race which was the first to be held post-Hurricane Irma.

“We were absolutely delighted because this year after [Hurricane] Irma we decided not to do any formal race,” said Reddy.  “We decided to have a little home race this year, just to do it casually, just for fun, just to see how people feel. I had planned for about 30 runners and I am absolutely delighted to note that 54 signed up. So it was a great race given the circumstances. The race turned out better than anticipated.”

Reddy also promised a full racing schedule next year.

Farley Upsets Stoby In Ceres Juices 10k Series Opener

By BVI Athletics Association

Julius Farley breaks the tape in winning the Ceres Juices 10K Series opener. PHOTO: Dean "The Sportsman" Greenaway

Julius Farley breaks the tape in winning the Ceres Juices 10K Series opener. Photo: Dean “The Sportsman” Greenaway

When he entered the A. O. Shirley Grounds after a see saw battle through the streets of Road Town, Julius Farley kept looking back, just incase he had to dig a little deeper. It wasn’t necessary as he had created enough separation between himself and challenger Reuben Stoby, to break the tape in Saturday’s Ceres Juices 10K Series Opener in 39 minutes and 24 seconds-much to his surprise-for his first victory of the season over his rival, who had been dominating the road racing scene.

“I just tried to run my race and ended up squeezing out a victory so I just want to give thanks to the creator for giving me the strength and the endurance that I could have been able to push on through,” said Farley who began challenging Stoby one mile into the 6.2 miles race. “I saw that he made several attempts (to break away) but I just managed to pick it up when I saw him coming, so I was able to make it through.”

Stoby congratulated Farley on running a steady race. “He ran a very good race and was steady in his pace and 39, I think this is the first time anyone has run under 40 on this course-it’s a tough course bearing in mind the heat at well,” said Stoby who finished in 39:38. “I have to give it to him. He came out very strong today. I tried to keep up hoping to hold on to the finish waiting to see what I had in the legs for a kick, but it didn’t happen. I wasn’t feeling so strong so I allowed him to set the pace and he went a little faster than I anticipated, so congratulations to Julius.”

Maria Mays won the women’s division in 45:41. “It’s the first 10K race I’ve done in ages so I’m delighted to be running it again and even more delighted to have won it,” Mays said. “I was really pleased with the Virgin Gorda 10Ks -I won both of those- and the Half Marathon, so I know that I was on reasonable form. But, you just never know.”

Final results
1. Julius Farley, 39 minutes and 24 seconds.  2. Reuben Stoby, 39:38. 3. Guy Williamson, 43:33.  4. Adrian Dale, 46:46.  5. Zebalon Mclean, 47:18.  6. Dan Mitchell, 47:35.  7. Guyp Dubois, 48:39.  8. Shane Donovan, 49:41.  9. Owen Walker, 51:41. 10. Charles Kerins, 52:33. 11. Aaron Gardner, 52:52.  12. Dennis Versoza, 53:55. 13. Simen Malmin, 54:29. 14. James Drury, 54:32.  15. William Hare, 55:48.  16. Claudius Rhymer, 56:12.  17. Gary Salter,57:28. 18. Sergio Dantas, 58:06. 19. Ruairi Bourke, 59:44. 20. Gabriel Obregon, 1:00:58.  21. Dennis Delacruz, 1:01:20.  22. Laurent Keeble-Buckle, 1:03:05. 23. Luke Plummer, 1:04:22.  24. Howard Moore, 1:07:26. 25. Nik Fox, 1:11:39.  26. Jim Cullimore, 1:16:45.

1. Maria Mays, 45:41.2.  Melissa Brunner, 47:47.  3. Claudia Ferrari, 52:24.  4. Rosmond  Johnson 52.47.  5.  Melisande Rowe, 53:15. 6. Lauren Julien, 55:34. 7. Saungie Liburd, 56:35.  8. Cayley Smit, 58:27. 9. Philomena Robertson, 59:18. 10. Debbie Bell, 59:57. 11. Karrina Stead, 1:03:17. 12. Vanessa King, 1:03:45. 13. Nedy Ador Dionicio, 1:10:52. 14. Claire Santillan, 1:14:30. 15. Simpa Ganadillo, 1:16:00. 16. Roslyn Gilbert.

Power Walkers: 1.= Sophie Bennett, Peter Reichenstein. 1:43:00. 3.= Linda Li, Sylvie Hune, Guy Hune, 1:43:40. 2-Mile Assault Course, 1. Clair Burke, 20.00.

4-Mile Course: 1. Olwyn Barry, 40:06. 2. Brandon Menton, 40.10.  2. Barry Leon, 1:00:01.

Youth One Mile: Girls: 1. Z’Hara McLean, 12:19.  2.  Ava Ghiorse, 12:50.

Boys: 1. Eli Ghiorse, 7.00. (400m)