Girasoli Wins 2016 Commodore’s Race


 Keith LiGreci and Girasoli won the 2016 Commodore's Cup. Photo: RBVIYC / Clair Burke

Keith LiGreci and Girasoli won the 2016 Commodore’s Cup. Photo: RBVIYC/Clair Burke

Eight boats entered the 2016 Commodore’s Race and enjoyed a blustery day’s sailing with Keith Li Greci on Girasoli taking the title.

The fleet was treated to a range of conditions with a beautiful BVI sailing day of big seas and big breeze giving way to intense squalls reportedly hitting the 40 knot mark and descending like a fog to obliterate all vision.

The course took the fleet from the start line in Road Harbour up to Hog Valley Green, across the channel to round Dead Chest before heading West to pass Pelican and Flanigan to Starboard, giving the crews a choice of heading out into the feisty conditions around the back of Peter Island or taking the inshore route. It was then back up to the Rhone Anchor dive buoy off Peter Island and then retunring across to finish between the Royal BVI Yacht and Lark Bank.

Keith LiGreci’s Girasoli took comfortable line honours after racing for just over three hours which proved to also be enough to take the overall win.

Second to finish was John Hayes on Wildfire with Aaron Gardner’s Bravissimo crossing the line exactly five minutes later. On corrected time, this gave Bravissimo second overall but Wildfire had to settle for fifth after another fine performance from David Lake on Wicked Winch.

Todd Patterson’s Dances with Whales fired off the start line and powered around the course in just over four hours. Opting to take the outer route around the back of Peter Island, the regulars from Pipe Dream found much value in the more comfortable ‘facilities’ of Dances, not least the ability to shelter from the rain!.

Don Pietrykowski skippered Reverie to sixth place. Two boats, Sapphire Breeze and Cheeky Monkey (STX), elected to retire and not risk damage to themselves or equipment.

The RBVIYC thanked sponsors O’Neal & Mundy, and Eddie Brockbank and Pam Fuller for running the Race Committee.

1. Girasoli – Keitih LiGreci
2. Bravissimo – Aaron Gardner (1st Racing)
3. Wicked Winch – David Lake
4. Wildfire – John Hayes
5. Dances with Whales – Todd Patterson
6. Reverie – Don Pietrykowski
RTD Sapphire Breeze – Stephen St Leger Moore
RTD Cheeky Monkey – Craig Hassey (STX)

The Commodore’s Race is part of the Pusser’s Painkiller Series – for results updates visit the West End Yacht Club Facebook page.