Islanders F.C. win 2017 Terry Evans Cup

By BVI Football Association

Islanders F.C. win Terry Evans Cup 2017. Photo: BVIFA

In front of a packed crowd at the A.O. Shirley Ground, the Islanders F.C. romped to a convincing and comfortable, 3-1, victory over the Sugar Boys to win the Terry Evans Cup, on Sunday, July 23  2017.

The opening exchanges were the cut and thrust of true cup final legend, but once Ranalie Caines had scored a sublime goal direct from a free kick 25 yards out, the Islanders began to control the game against the VG based opponents who were, admittedly, missing a couple of key players.

It was still anyone’s game at just 1-0, but early in the second period, Kevin Fahie got the better of Derol Redhead, playing in the back four for Sugar Boys, and fired home to make it 2-0.

McTair James nodded in a third for the Islanders before Terry Nanton scored a late consolation penalty to make the final score 3-1

“The Sugar played a good game, but we stuck to our game plans and held our composure and it paid off,” noted Captain of the Islanders, Andy Davis. “(Ranalie) Cains has never been shy about taking free kicks and luckily for us, he scored and we were able to dominate from there. We are a champion team and that is what our fans expect us to do!”

Derol Redhead of the Sugar Boys commented that the game had been a typical tough-tackling, hard running encounter, but rued the fact some key players had been unavailable. “The players put out their best and, up until the free kick, we were in the game despite not being able to field our first choice team or having much on the bench.”