Stoby, Crumpler top runners in Blenheim Trust 5k Series


Khiry Creque, left, Julius Farley, Reuben Stoby and Tarique Creque were the early pace setters in Saturday's Blenheim Trust 5K Series finale Photo: Dean "The Sportsman" Greenaway

Khiry Creque, left, Julius Farley, Reuben Stoby and Tarique Creque were the early pace setters in Saturday’s Blenheim Trust 5K Series finale. Photo: Dean “The Sportsman” Greenaway

Saturday’s finale of the Blenheim Trust 5K Series–which also marked the inaugural National 5K Championships–saw Reuben Stoby and Katrina Crumpler–emerging as overall series winners after the finale in Road Town.

Stoby had a winning time of 17 minutes and 52 seconds and was followed by Tarique Creque in 18:17 and Julius Farley third in 18:53. Early leader Khiry Creque finished fourth in 19:44.

Stoby said when Creque set the pace, he wanted to see what it would be like and thought Creque wanted to slow it down. “Knowing that he and Tarique are 800m runners, I couldn’t take that chance and I went ahead early and I was surprised that they didn’t follow me,” pointed out Stoby, who said he was a bit tired from the Virgin Gorda Half Marathon. “I was really hoping that I wouldn’t have to fight too hard to win today. I wanted to win, even though I knew I’d won the series, knowing the competition would be stiff, I wanted to go for the victory nevertheless.”

Moses said Stoby won fair and square. “He went out hard and kept from me and every time he saw me gaining, he pushed the pace and I was trying to close on him, but he won. He’s the 5K champion,” Moses stated, noting he’s not in condition for the 5K. “I came out, I ran and thought I could have held my own against him. I challenged him but he kept from me and he won.”

Early pace setter Creque said he pushed the pace trying to take Stoby out of his comfort zone. “But, I saw how good a shape he’s in because he’s really a beast,” Creque said. “I really didn’t train for the 5K. I came out to see what I could do. I’ve heard a lot about him and I wanted to see what it was like to run with him. He’s incredible. He’s in better shape than I expected.”

Crumpler – coming off winning the Virgin Gorda Half Marathon a week earlier and ahead of this weekend’s Buffalo Marathon – said her legs felt a bit tired. “I felt fine in the first mile and I was quite excited and tried to do a quick race and by mile two I was like, ‘oh, my legs are tired,'” she explained. “I think I did feel the effects of racing in Virgin Gorda, but I enjoyed it.”

Final results

Men: 1. Reuben Stoby, 17 minutes and 52 seconds. 2. Tarique Moses, 18:17. 3. Julius Farley, 18:53. 4. Khiry Creque, 19:44. 5. Zebalon McLean, 20:55. 6. Derek Pettigrew, 21:33. 7. Adam D’Monte, 21:54. 8. Richard Morgan, 22:27. 9. Patrick Ormond, 22:45. 10. Simon Cook, 23:06. 11. Adrian Dale, 23:20. 12. David Pettigrew, 23:28. 13. Matt Freeman, 24:06. 14. Alberto Lazo, 24:29. 15. Dan Wealthy, 25:08. 16. Claudius Rhymer, 25:19. 17. Stephen Bridson, 26:02. 18. Guy Williamson, 26:21. 19. Andre Kartick, 29:05. 20. Howard Moore, 29:07. 21. Dennis de la Cruz, 30:48. 22. Barry Leon, 32:38. 23. Terry Wu, 33:33.

Women: 1. Katrina Crumpler, 20:55. 2. Rosmond Johnson, 22:07. 3. Kay Reddy, 24:22. 4. Julianne Potgeiter, 24:29. 5. Anna Kinkead, 24:35. 6. Claudia Ferrari, 25:26. 7. (tie). Carolina Pettigrew and Philomena Robertson, 25:32. 9. Sarah Graham, 25:40. 10. Lauren Julien, 26:21. 11. Lisa Bridson, 26:56. 12. Sarah Carroll, 27:19. 13. Jenni Dobbie, 27:52. 14. Barbara O’Neal, 29:04. 15. Clair Burke, 29:22. 16. Sarah Hatcher, 32:17. 17. Claire Santillian, 32:25.

Power Walkers: 1.= Sophie Bennett and Shirley Liburd, 50:00. 3. Linda Li, 55:00. Maureen Percival.
Youth 1 Mile: 1. Sammy Potgeiter, 7:50. 2. Owen Graham, 11:20. 3. Charlie Potgeiter, 12:08. 3. Sebbie Morgan. 4. Frank Carroll. 5. Merryn Wealthy.

National Championships 5K

Men All Comers: Reuben Stoby. BVI National 5k Champ: Tarique Moses.

Women All Comers: Katrina Crumpler. BVI National 5k Champ: Anna Kinkead.

Youth National 5k Champ: Derek Pettigrew.

BLenheim Trust 5K Series Overall

Men: 1st: Reuben Stoby. 2nd Tarique Moses. 3rd Julius Farley.

Women: 1st Kartina Crumpler. 2nd Rosmond Johnson. 3rd. Anna Kinkead.

Walkers: Sophie Bennett and Linda Li.

Youth 1 Mile: Sammy Potgeiter, Sebbie Morgan, Xavier Morgan, Charlie Potgeiter

Age Group Champions

Under 15: 1. Derek Pettigrew
Under 20: 1. Andre Kartick
30-39: 1. Guy Williamson 2. Shane Donovan 3. Claudius Rhymer. 4. Marvin Flax
40-49: 1. Zebalon McLean 2. Paul Hubbard 3. Stephen Bridson
50-59: 1. Adrian Dale 2. David Pettigrew 3. Howard Moore 4. Barry Leon

20-29: 1. Lauren Julian 2.
30-39: 1. Julianne Potgeiter 2. Claudia Ferrari 3. Natasha Ruscheinski. 4. Sarah Carroll 5. Jenni Dobbie. 6. Claire Santillian. 7. Candy Holdt.
40-49: 1. Lisa Bridson 2. Philomena Robertson 3. Sarah Graham 4. Clair Burke
50-59: 1. Kay Reddy 2. Eva Askulv