St Vincent & Grenadines cyclist Trevor Bailey wins BVICF 2019 Election Classic

Winners and participants of the BVI Cycling Federation’s 2019 Election Classic 74.2 mile race held on Feb 17, 2019. 1st Place – Trevor Bailey (St Vincent & the Grenadines) 357:40; 2nd place – Sean Weathered (Antigua & Barbuda) 357:45; 3rd place Philippe Leroy (BVI) 357:47. Photo: CM Farrington/BVIOC

Pack leaders from St Vincent and the Grenadines, Antigua and Barbuda and the British Virgin Islands took to the podium of the BVI Cycling Federation’s (BVICF) 2019 Election Classic bicycle race.

The 74.2 mile race took place around the flatter, western end of Tortola, BVI on Sunday February 17, 2019.

In a sprint to the finish line, the 3 top cyclists completed the race within a couple of seconds of each other.

Trevor ‘Sailor’ Bailey from St Vincent and the Grenadines was first to cross the line in a time of 357:40 with Antiguan cyclist, Sean Weathered nipping at his wheel in a time of 357:45 to place second while Philippe Leroy (BVI)  followed closely to take third place in a time of 357:47.

Four women also competed completing a shorter course of 2 laps. The BVI racers included Olympia Fahie, Natasha Ruscheinski and Kay Reddy

The event was sponsored by the BVI Olympic Committee (BVIOC), National Bank of the Virgin Islands, Village Cay Hotel & Marina, One Stop Mall, TSBC Company LTD and Eugene Penn Taxi Services.