Cyclists Andrews and Blackmore win Jason Bally Memorial Race

Orano Andrews. Photo: Broadsword Communications

Orano Andrews. Photo: Broadsword Communications

The BVI Cycling Federation hosted the 2014 Jason Bally Memorial Race on October 5. The annual race, now in its 14th year, commemorates cyclist, Jason Bally who was killed 15 years ago.  Visiting cyclist from Antigua, Timothy Thomas was one of 16 cyclists who participated in the different age groups and categories that formed  part of this year’s event.

Orano Andrews and Sally-Ann Blackmore were the respective winners in the Men’s and Women’s categories. Kelichi Bolondia won the Juniors’ race while Anthony Spencer came first in the Mountain Bike category. Phillipe Leroy was forced to drop out of his category following an injury sustained during the race.

The federation thanked Hon. Myron Walwyn, the Minister for Education, Culture and Sports for his attendance and for his brief remarks at a candle light service for Jason held before the race.

President of the BVI Cycling Federation, Darel Christopher Snr wished Leroy a speedy recovery and thanked the supporters and cyclists in the event. The president went on to acknowledge the BVIOC for its support saying, “We would also like to thank the B.V.I Olympic Committee for their monetary contribution to aid in hosting the race.”

The next race will be held in 2015 and all cyclists are encouraged to participate.

The BVI Cycling Federation invites anyone interested in cycling to become a member of the federation. Interested persons may call 543-1526 Darel Christopher, President or speak to any of the other executive members.

Race results:

Cat A
1st   Orano Andrews   3hrs 15 mins
2nd  Antonio Andrews 3hrs 20 mins
3rd   Timothy Thomas 3hrs 20mins
4th  Shaguil Samuels 3hrs 24mins
5th    Statius Talium     3hrs 24mins
Philippe Leroy   —- (Dropped due to Injury)

Cat B
1st   Adrian Dale 2hrs 8mins
2nd  Andrew Willimas 2hrs 22mins

1st  Sally Blackmore 2hrs 8mins
2nd  Kay Reddy         2hrs 8 mins

1st Kelichi Bolondia 1hr 13mins
2nd Deraun Noel       1hr 13mins
3rd  John Cullimore   1hr 48min

Mountain Bike
1st Anthony Spencer 1hr 1min
2nd Rusty Burns  1hr 17mins
3rd  Jim Cullimore 1hr 17mins